LOGO 2019
Banner announcing Dennis J. Murray winning PACHC Apex Award for Board Service Excellence

Laurel Health Board Member Receives Statewide Apex Award from PACHC

By Kristy Warren 


Long-time Laurel Health Centers board member J. Dennis Murray, PhD, was awarded the 2023 Board Excellence and Service Apex Award by the Pennsylvania Association of Community Health Centers. This prestigious recognition is awarded to a single board member in the entire state to honor their outstanding commitment to serving their local health centers and improving access to quality care. 


Known as “Denny” to his fellow board members, he has worked diligently to positively shape the future of our health system and our communities. He has served on our board for 37 years and currently serves as Board Personnel Chair. His local ties and healthcare experience as an Emeritus Psychology Professor at Mansfield University have allowed him to provide unique insight, support, and guidance.


Laurel Health President James A. Nobles and PACHC Director Eric Kiehl present Dennis J. Murray with his 2023 Apex Award for Excellence in Board Service

The award was first announced at this year’s PACHC conference and was presented by Laurel Health President James A. Nobles and PACHC representative Eric Kiehl, Director of Policy & Partnership, at our November board meeting.

Pictured from left: James A. Nobles and Eric Kiehl present J. Dennis Murray, PhD, with his PACHC Apex Award for Excellence in Board Service.


Laurel Health is incredibly grateful to Denny Murray for his many years of dedicated service and commitment to building meaningful connections with our patients. Congratulations on this well-deserved recognition!


To learn more about Laurel Health's board of directors and executive leadership team, visit our leadership page